2. NEWS

  3. Award winners celebrate at ITS 2022
Award winners celebrate at ITS 2022

Award winners celebrate at ITS 2022

Tug owners and builders, naval architects, ports and technology innovators won ITS Awards at an industry Gala Dinner in Istanbul, Turkey


This essential industry event was held 30 September in association with Caterpillar, during the 26th International Tug & Salvage Convention, Exhibition & Awards in Istanbul, Turkey.

Highlighting the best in technology, innovation, safety and port operations in the tug, towage and salvage industries, these annual awards recognise vessels, companies and individuals who have set new benchmarks throughout the previous year.

To win represents a significant personal and professional milestone and is all-the-more memorable as these awards are determined by the industry.

Boluda Towage won the prestigious Tug Owner of the Year Award, sponsored by Med Marine, for its latest stream of acquisitions, including integrating Caledonian Towage in the UK, and its fleet expansions in southeast Asia, Europe and Latin America.

The world’s second-largest tug owner beat ADNOC Logistics & Services, Rimorchiatori Mediterranei, SAAM Towage, Svitzer and Wilson Sons to the prestigious prize.

ITS Tug of the Year Award, sponsored by BMA Technology, was won by Sparky, the first all-electric harbour tug in the southern hemisphere. Its designer and builder, Damen Shipyards and owner, Ports of Auckland, received the award for this innovative tug, which set an industry-first when it started operating in New Zealand in June 2022.

Also shortlisted for the award was Med Marine-built and Robert Allan-designed salvage tugboat Mwokozi II, Wilson Sons-built and owned WS Centaurus, Seabulk’s Spartan tug, built by Master Boat Builders to Robert Allan’s design and three offshore terminal support tugs – SL Ibo, SL Matemo and SL Macaloe – built by Uzmar to a Robert Allan design for Smit Lamnalco.

ITS Salvage Company of the Year Award, sponsored by Uzmar, went to Donjon-Smit LLC for the successful salvage of grounded Evergreen Marine’s 12,000-TEU container ship Ever Forward outside of Baltimore, US during a 35-day refloat project in March 2022. This was achieved with a fleet of tugs, including those owned by Moran Towage and McAllister Towing.

Others shortlisted for the award were BlueTack, Engage Towage and Tsavliris Salvage for their participation in various successful salvage and wreck removal projects.

Port of Antwerp-Bruges won the Ports & Harbour Award, sponsored by Navtek Naval Technologies, for its investment in running tugs on alternative fuels and investment in bunkering infrastructure.

Other nominees shortlisted were Port of Rotterdam, PSA Singapore, Tuzla Gisas Port and Port of Port Hedland.

The Damen-sponsored Innovation of the Year Award was received by IHI Power Systems for its integrated electric propulsion system installed on Japan’s first electric-powered tug, Tokyo Kisen’s Taiga, which will be in service in Tokyo Bay in December 2022.

Other recognised nominees were Berg Propulsion, DockTech and Keppel Offshore & Marine.

The ITS Safety Award, sponsored by Tsavliris Salvage, was awarded to the European Tugowners Association and European Maritime Pilots Association for jointly developing the Guidelines for Efficient and Safe Harbour Operations, highlighting the importance of communications between tug masters and pilots during pilotage and towage in ports.

The British Tugowners Association (BTA), UK Maritime Pilots Association and the Turkish Directorate General of Coastal Safety were also shortlisted nominees for this award.

ITS’s Lifetime Achievement Award 2022, sponsored by Sanmar, was awarded in a special moment during the Gala dinner to Robert Allan Ltd founder and executive chairman Robert Allan for his decades of dedicated service and experience in designing the industry’s efficient series of harbour, terminal, escort and offshore tugs.

In another special award, the long-term dedication to the towage and pilotage industry in Turkey and worldwide of Uzmar’s Captain Altay Altug was recognised with a posthumous award.

Önceki ve Sonraki Haberler


WARNING: Do not use words containing insults, swearing and words against personal and religional beliefs. Comments containing capital letters will not be approved.